Just got this message purportedly from Mark Zuckerberg via my “fun wall” on facebook asking me to forward it on to my friends to make sure I’m still an “active member”, with the idea that they will start “deleting” inactive members. Sure this is totally false, but it just shows how a social tool like Facebook is potentially open to malicious social engineering. It even sets people up for scamming some money later with the idea of getting donations later if facebook is still “overpopulated”.
Facebook is recently becoming very overpopulated,
There have been many members complaining that Facebook
is becoming very slow.Record shows that the reason is
that there are too many non-active Facebook members
And on the other side too many new Facebook members.
We will be sending this messages around to see if the
Members are active or not,If you’re active please send
to other users using Copy+Paste to show that you are active
Those who do not send this message within 2 weeks,
The user will be deleted without hesitation to create more space,
If Facebook is still overpopulated we kindly ask for donations but until then send this message to all your friends and make sure you send
this message to show me that your active and not deleted.
Founder of Facebook
Mark Zuckerberg
UPDATE: It’s already been parodied
World is recently becoming very overpopulated,
There have been many members complaining that all commute
is becoming very slow. Record shows that the reason is
that there are too many World members.
And on the other side too many new babies.
We will be sending this message around to see if you are alive or not. If you’re alive, please send
to other members using Copy+Paste to show that you are alive.
Those who do not send this message within 2 weeks, will be announced dead.
The member will be “deleted” without hesitation to create more space.
If World is still overpopulated we kindly ask for “donations” but until then send this message to all your friends and make sure you send
this message to show me that your alive and not dead.
Founder of World
Zark Muckerberg
Forward!!
{ 1 trackback }
{ 15 comments… read them below or add one }
Just got this too. It’s listed on snopes as a hoax
I’ve received that message from so many people and am amazed at how many are fooled by it, which shows how dangerous it could potentially be. I hadn’t considered the possibility of it being used to scam people out of money! I’ve therefore forwarded the parody to all my friends! I love it and it’s a friendly way of pointing out that the original was a hoax. Then again,…..maybe that’s why I can’t see my profile page any more!……;0)
Wooooooooooooow….
http://www.amanra.com
Have a new virus in Facebook. Create a new count “franciscogl” and added a friends.
Hey this is one a friend just sent me on Facebook. It will send itself out to your facebook contact list. Looks like youtube when you open it except no logo. Otherwise the layout is the same. It says you need to download a driver or codec to make the video run. My friend is running XP and the virus hot her. Im using Vista and it doesnt seem to be compatable withthis operating system. I havnt been able to find any other info abou this. My friend has emailed Facebook to bring it to there attention.
Does anyone know how the virus would be able to work through facebook to send this message??
Greg I just recieved the same message. It was from a friend that I would trust. My virus scan picked it up right away and cured it. I will not be accepting things like this anytime soon.
Victim here. My laptop is infected. I’ve done three Norton AntiVirus scans and an Adaware and the “System Defender” and “Antivirus 2009″ prompts are everywhere and making it impossible for me to get to Internet Explorer.
Anyone have any suggestions before I end up having to wipe my computer completely (last resort)?
Message shows up in your inbox. could be from any one of your friends. it says”So and So has caught you on a private camera” When you open it, it asks you to download a video,but you’re acctually downloading a virus.
Saw on the news last night that even opening up the facebook page can get you a virus…anyone know if this is true???
I too have the virus (trojan worm apparently), looking for solutions elsewhere, forums point towards downloading & running ’spybot’, supposed to knock it on the head, going to try it tonight, I suggest you do the same then reset your password
I smell my farts…
Suggestion to everybody struggling with this virus.
Linux. If you crave the windows-esque interface, http://www.ubuntu.com.
Thank me later
.Sean
hi! hi!
suggestion to SEAN go to hell, and STFU, you don’t even know what LINUX is you “geekish” wanna be… Thank ya mom pussssy
ok – here i am!!!